Hevy vs JEFIT: Free Limits, Plans and Prices Compared (2026)
Hevy vs JEFIT: free caps on custom exercises and routines, ads, ready plans, watch apps, sharing defaults and prices, each quoted from the apps or tested.
Hevy gives seven free custom exercises, both watch platforms and a friends feed; JEFIT gives 1,400+ exercises with instructions and thousands of expert plans; Kinoku gives no account and no caps, on Android only.
At a glance
| App | Best for | Better at | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hevy | Lifters who train with friends and log from an Apple Watch or a Wear OS watch | Seven free custom exercises to JEFIT's three in our tests, and both watch platforms on its homepage | Four free routines in our test, and a sign-up before the first set |
| JEFIT | Lifters who want 1,400+ exercises with instructions and a large library of ready plans | Over 1,400 exercises with guided instructions on its free plan, and thousands of plans by experts | Three free custom exercises in our test; ad-free use, videos and advanced analytics sit in Elite |
| Kinoku | Android lifters who want no account, no ads and no cap on routines or custom exercises | No account and no free caps, free charts and programs, and importers for Hevy and JEFIT CSV files | Android only for now, with no web app, no feed and no plan store beyond its 25 templates |
Publisher disclosure
Kinoku, made by Dreamsoft Works, writes and publishes this page, and Kinoku is one of the apps on it. Every fact about Hevy and JEFIT is quoted from a page that app publishes, opened on September 26, 2026, or observed in our emulator tests of Hevy 3.1.12 on September 6, 2026 and JEFIT 17.4.4 on September 11, 2026. We give no score. The apps are grouped by what their own pages say, and every label points at a quoted sentence.
Quickstart
Hevy and JEFIT (a lifting planner on iOS, Android and the web) both run on iPhone and Android and both have a web version. Hevy gave our free account more custom exercises and names both watch platforms, while JEFIT lists 1,400+ exercises with instructions and thousands of expert plans. Kinoku is a third option on Android with no account, and nothing here carries a score.
What Hevy and JEFIT each do well
Hevy and JEFIT both build a community into the log, and each is strong at a different part of training.
- Hevy keeps the log quick and social. Its homepage lists “Intuitive Workout Logging” and an “Advanced Routine Planner”, and its community section offers ways to follow other athletes, like and comment on workouts, and save another athlete’s routines.
- Hevy goes to the wrist on both platforms. The homepage names Apple Watch and Wear OS for tracking a whole session with the phone left in a locker, and it links to a web version at hevy.com.
- JEFIT puts a large library on the free plan. Its membership page lists “Over 1,400 Exercises with guided instructions” and “Free and custom workout routines” under Basic, the free plan.
- JEFIT is built around plans. The homepage offers a plan “from thousands of elite plans designed by experts”, describes building your own with your preferred exercises, rest time, supersets, equipment or frequency, and says periodization now works on the plans you build yourself.
- JEFIT logs with no signal. Its blog says “JEFIT allows offline entry and auto-syncs data across Android and iOS.” In our September 11 test it saved a bench press set in flight mode with no message at any step.
Free limits: custom exercises, routines and ads
Both apps cap something on the free plan, and each one printed its own number on screen in our tests.
- Custom exercises. JEFIT 17.4.4 opened its Create Custom Exercise form with a bar reading “Custom exercises: 0/3” before we had made one. Hevy 3.1.12 let us make seven and showed an upgrade sheet on the eighth.
- Routines. Hevy’s free account stopped at four routines, with a sheet offering Hevy Pro on the fifth. JEFIT’s Basic plan lists free and custom routines without a number, and we did not test a routine cap in JEFIT, so this page states none.
- Ads. JEFIT’s Elite plan lists an “Ad-free experience” as a paid benefit. In our one session we saw only JEFIT’s own “Upgrade to Elite” banner, which says little about the free build as a whole. Hevy’s homepage states no ad policy, so this page does not say either way.
- Kinoku. There is no cap on routines or custom exercises, and no plan shows ads.
Plans, charts and videos
JEFIT describes more of this on its pages than Hevy does, and it places part of it in Elite.
JEFIT’s Elite plan lists “Professionally designed workout plans”, “Advanced analytics and tracking”, “Watch app support” and “Video exercise demonstrations”. Its homepage adds a “muscle recovery breakdown” and charts for one-rep max (1RM), workout time and weightlifting, without naming the plan they sit on.
Hevy’s homepage lists “Advanced Exercise Charts”, “Personal Records”, a one-rep max calculator and “High Quality Exercise Videos”. It does not say which of them need Hevy Pro, so this page does not either.
Kinoku’s per-exercise charts, personal records and the muscle map’s frequency and volume views are free, and its recovery estimates are part of Pro. The free program builder comes with 25 templates and named programs: 5/3/1 by Jim Wendler, GZCLP (a beginner barbell program by Cody Lefever) and nSuns from the r/nSuns community. Kinoku has no plan store and ships no demonstration videos, although you can save a YouTube link to any exercise for free.
Sharing defaults on a new account
Both apps lean toward sharing until you change a setting, and they do it in different places.
- Hevy. When we saved a first workout, the visibility choice already sat on Everyone, and the sheet said everyone on Hevy could see it. Switching to Private took a single tap.
- JEFIT. The card after our first saved workout had “Share to community” switched on. In Privacy Settings, the Training Logs row, described as “Allow others to view your workout details and compare data with you.”, read Friends, and the Newsfeed row read Member.
- Kinoku. There is no feed, so a workout has nowhere to be posted.
What each one costs
JEFIT prints a dollar price on its own site, and Hevy’s homepage prints none, so the in-app sheets are the only side-by-side we can offer.
- On JEFIT’s site. The Elite page shows $12.99 a month, or $69.99 a year for Elite Annual.
- In the apps. On one test account and in euros, Hevy Pro showed 3.49 a month, 26.49 a year or 79.99 once on September 6, 2026. JEFIT’s Elite Hub showed 14.31 a month or 76.69 a year on September 14, 2026.
- Kinoku. Pro is US $5.99 a month or US $39.99 a year, and a one-time Pro Lifetime is US $69.99.
Store prices change by country and from week to week, so the price your own store shows is the one that counts.
Moving your history
Hevy gives you a file on the way out, and in our session JEFIT did not show us where its file lives.
- Hevy. The Export Data screen writes your whole history to one CSV named workout_data.csv, and it warns that the file “can not be imported back into Hevy”.
- JEFIT. We looked for an export control under Settings, Privacy Settings, Other Support and the Progress tabs and found none, which is one session and not proof that none exists.
Kinoku reads both layouts. From version 1.3.0 on, it takes Hevy’s file in pounds or kilograms, and an export with Hevy set to English matches Kinoku’s English catalog best. A JEFIT CSV from any source imports too, and a row like 10/8/6/4 becomes four sets. You check the exercise-name matches on a review screen first, and the import stays one batch that you can remove later from Import History.
Side by side
Hevy and JEFIT cells come from their own pages or our emulator runs, and a “Not stated” cell means none of the pages we opened covers that row.
| Hevy | JEFIT | Kinoku | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Account | Needed before the first set, in our test | Needed after a questionnaire and an Elite offer, in our test | None |
| Free custom exercises | 7, in our test | 3 (“Custom exercises: 0/3”) | No cap |
| Free routines | 4, in our test | “Free and custom workout routines”, no number | No cap |
| Ads on the free plan | Not stated | “Ad-free experience” is under Elite | None |
| Exercise library | Count not stated | “Over 1,400 Exercises with guided instructions” | 1,300+ with muscle data |
| Exercise videos | Listed; plan not stated | “Video exercise demonstrations” under Elite | None built in; saved YouTube links, free |
| Ready plans | Save other athletes’ routines | “thousands of elite plans designed by experts” | 25 templates and named programs, free |
| Watch | Apple Watch and Wear OS | “Watch app support” under Elite | Wear OS, free |
| Web | hevy.com | Web subscriptions on its support page | None |
| Sharing default | Everyone, on a new account | Share to community on; logs visible to Friends | No feed |
| Offline | Saved; the upload waits for a signal | Saved, with no message | Works offline; nothing to upload |
| Export | CSV, not importable back into Hevy | No export control found in our session | CSV, a ZIP backup and an Export for AI file |
| Paid plan | Hevy Pro, shown at 3.49 euros a month on September 6 | Elite, $12.99 a month on its site | Pro, US $5.99 a month |
Each app, in its own words
Hevy
Best for: Lifters who train with friends and log from an Apple Watch or a Wear OS watch.
Hevy is a set-by-set logger with a feed, on phones, both watch platforms and the web.
- What it does well. The homepage calls Hevy “a free workout tracker for iOS and Android”, and it lists a routine planner, custom exercises, charts and records, exercise videos, and a community where you follow athletes and save their routines.
- What its pages say about limits. In our test the free account hit a wall at the fifth routine and the eighth custom exercise, sign-up came before the first set, and the export screen warns that the file only goes one way.
- Where it is the better pick. A lifter who trains with friends, who wants to log from either kind of watch, or who needs more free custom exercises than JEFIT’s three. Against Kinoku, Hevy is the pick on an iPhone or an Apple Watch.
- Where Hevy differs. Its homepage names no library of ready plans, and on a new account the save sheet defaulted to Everyone.
JEFIT
Best for: Lifters who want 1,400+ exercises with instructions and a large library of ready plans.
JEFIT is a planner with a large exercise database, expert plans and a community, and its support page manages subscriptions for iOS, Android and the web.
- What it does well. The free Basic plan lists over 1,400 exercises with guided instructions. You can build plans your own way or pick from thousands by experts, periodization now runs on plans you build, and offline entry syncs later.
- What its pages say about limits. Elite holds the ad-free experience, advanced analytics, watch app support, video demonstrations and professionally designed plans. Our free account had three custom exercises, and sign-up came after a questionnaire and an Elite offer.
- Where it is the better pick. A lifter who would rather pick a plan than write one, or who wants written guidance for a very large library. Against Kinoku, JEFIT is the pick for anyone on an iPhone or in a browser.
- Where JEFIT differs. Sharing was on by default after our first workout, and we found no export control in the app.
Kinoku
Best for: Android lifters who want no account, no ads and no cap on routines or custom exercises.
Kinoku is a free Android app for lifting and running, with the whole training record kept on the phone.
- What it does well. No account, no ads and no cap on routines, custom exercises or history. Per-exercise charts, personal records and the muscle map are free, and so are a Wear OS app and the program builder with its 25 templates. The importer reads a Hevy CSV and a JEFIT CSV.
- What its pages say about limits. Pro is one paid plan for run analytics, readiness, recovery on the muscle map and the Pro Analytics hub, and the free app works without it.
- Where it is the better pick. An Android lifter who hit Hevy’s four routines or JEFIT’s three custom exercises and wants no account at all.
- What Kinoku does not do: Kinoku has no web app, no iPhone app yet and no plan store, so a lifter who wants to browse thousands of expert plans in a browser is better served by JEFIT.
How this comparison was checked
What this page says about Hevy and JEFIT comes from sentences on their own sites or from dated emulator runs.
- Pages we read. The Hevy homepage, plus JEFIT’s homepage, membership page, support page, blog post and privacy policy, were all read on September 26, 2026.
- Our emulator runs. Hevy 3.1.12 was tested on September 6, 2026, and JEFIT 17.4.4 on September 11, 2026, with its screens and prices read again on September 14. Both came from Google Play onto an Android 16 emulator.
- No sponsor. Neither company paid to appear, and we sent neither of them a draft.
Frequently asked questions
Should I use Hevy or JEFIT?
The answer turns on what you want around the log. Hevy suits a lifter who wants friends to follow, both watch platforms and more free custom exercises, seven to JEFIT’s three in our tests. JEFIT suits a lifter who wants a large exercise library with instructions and a store of expert plans. Neither app leads on every row, so this page prints no score.
How many custom exercises can I make for free in Hevy and JEFIT?
Seven in Hevy and three in JEFIT, in the builds we tested. Hevy 3.1.12 showed an upgrade sheet on the eighth Create tap, and JEFIT 17.4.4 opened its Create Custom Exercise form with a bar reading Custom exercises: 0/3 before we had made one. Kinoku puts no cap on custom exercises at any tier.
Do Hevy and JEFIT show ads?
JEFIT’s Elite page lists an ad-free experience as an Elite benefit, which is how it describes the free plan. In our one JEFIT session we saw its own Upgrade to Elite banner and no third-party ad, and one session proves little about the free build. Hevy’s homepage states no ad policy, so this page says nothing either way for Hevy. Kinoku shows no ads on any plan.
Which one has exercise videos for free?
JEFIT’s free Basic plan lists over 1,400 exercises with guided instructions, and its Elite plan adds video exercise demonstrations. Hevy’s homepage lists high quality exercise videos without saying which plan they sit on, so this page does not say. Kinoku ships muscle data and form notes for 1,300+ exercises, and lets you save your own YouTube link to any exercise for free.
Do Hevy and JEFIT work without an account?
Not in the builds we tested. Hevy 3.1.12 opened on sign-up or log-in with no skip. JEFIT 17.4.4 ran a questionnaire of about twenty steps and showed an Elite offer before its sign-up screen, which offered Google, Facebook, Apple or email and no guest path. Kinoku has no sign-up screen at any point, so the first set needs nothing.
Which one has ready-made workout plans?
JEFIT’s homepage offers a plan from thousands of elite plans designed by experts, and its Elite page lists professionally designed workout plans as a paid benefit. Hevy’s homepage describes a routine planner and a way to save other athletes’ routines, and names no plan library. Kinoku includes a free program builder, 25 templates and named programs such as 5/3/1, with no store of community plans.
How much do Hevy Pro and JEFIT Elite cost?
JEFIT’s Elite page prints $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year. On one test account and in euros, Hevy’s Pro sheet showed 3.49 a month on September 6, 2026, and JEFIT’s Elite Hub showed 14.31 a month on September 14. Store prices change by country and by week, so your store’s price is the one that counts. Kinoku Pro is US $5.99 a month or US $39.99 a year.
Are Hevy and JEFIT workouts public by default?
Both lean toward sharing on a new account. Hevy’s Save Workout sheet preselected Everyone, saying the workout is publicly available to all users on Hevy. JEFIT’s card after our first workout had Share to community switched on, and its Training Logs privacy setting read Friends. Both settings can be switched, and Kinoku has no feed at all, so there is nothing to switch.
Can I export my history from Hevy or JEFIT?
Hevy can. Its Export Data screen writes your whole history to a CSV file and warns that the file cannot be imported back into Hevy. We found no export control in JEFIT 17.4.4 under Settings, Privacy Settings, Other Support or the Progress tabs, which is one session and not proof that none exists. Kinoku reads a Hevy CSV and the JEFIT CSV layout.
Which one shows muscle recovery?
JEFIT’s homepage describes a muscle recovery breakdown next to charts for one-rep max, workout time and weightlifting, without naming the plan it sits on. The Hevy homepage we read does not mention recovery. Kinoku’s muscle map shows how often and how much you trained each muscle for free, and its recovery estimates are part of Pro.
Related pages
- FitNotes vs Hevy: Hevy beside the no-account Android notebook.
- Hevy vs Strong: four free routines against three free templates, and a feed against a quiet log.
- Kinoku vs Hevy: Kinoku and Hevy, row by row.
- Kinoku vs JEFIT: The account, the ads and the charts in detail.
- Best Hevy alternatives: Six apps sorted by free routine cap.
- Best JEFIT alternatives: Five apps sorted by free custom-exercise cap.
- Hevy vs Caliber: A third rival for Hevy, one that also sells a one-on-one trainer.
Which one fits you
- Choose Hevy if you want friends to follow and a watch app on Apple Watch or Wear OS, and seven free custom exercises and four free routines are enough, or Hevy Pro is.
- Choose JEFIT if you want 1,400+ exercises with instructions and a large library of ready plans, and you are fine with Elite for video demonstrations and an ad-free app.
- Choose Kinoku if you train on Android and want no account, no ads and no cap on routines or custom exercises, with a free program builder and an importer for a Hevy or JEFIT CSV.
Test record
Tested September 6, 2026
- Environment
- Android Studio Pixel phone emulator Kinoku_Phone_Play, API 36, Android 16
- Hevy
- Version 3.1.12 (version code 3289233), installed from Google Play, tested September 6, 2026. Official listing
- JEFIT
- Version 17.4.4 (version code 2093), installed from Google Play, tested September 11, 2026, with screens and prices read again September 14, 2026. Official listing
- Kinoku
- Version 1.2.0 (version code 30), a test build installed outside Google Play, checked with flight mode on September 6 and September 11, 2026. Official listing
How this page is checked. Every fact about another app on this page comes from a page that app publishes, which we could open and quote on September 26, 2026, or from a dated emulator test named in that source's note. The sources, with the exact sentence each fact rests on, are listed just above. Every Kinoku fact is tied to the shipping app's code. The page carries no score; the apps are grouped by what their own pages say. If a fact here has gone stale, the support page is the fastest way to tell us.
Test evidence
What the tested builds showed
Open full-size image ↗JEFIT's free custom-exercise limit
Cropped emulator capture from September 11, 2026. The Create Custom Exercise form in JEFIT 17.4.4 opened with this bar on a free account, before we had made a single exercise. Hevy 3.1.12 showed its own limit sheet on the eighth custom exercise.
One of the apps on this page
Kinoku is free to install
Core tracking works offline, with no account. An export from the app you use today can come along.
Android only for now, with an iPhone version in the works. Some depth is paid, and the pricing page says which parts.
Related features
1,300+ built-in exercises with muscle data and unlimited custom moves are free. Pro adds custom form photos and assisted sorting.
A 4-phase planning stack. The builder, all 25 templates, named programs with auto-progression, the custom model, and unlimited active programs are free. Pro adds volume targets, readiness tuning, and auto set changes.
Charts per exercise, PRs, your best one-rep estimate, volume trends, and date filters. Every exercise type gets a chart that fits it: Best, Total, and Avg Time for holds, Best and Total Reps for rep work, and Best and Total Distance for distance work, not just weight charts.

